Disability Select Committee Report 2021-23

The Select Committee on Disability highlighted initial concerns for grassroots development on disability within TTE. This was followed by the establishment of a small group by Greg Yarnall to look at some of the issues that had been raised.. Then with BPTT and TTE a Partnership Group met looking at links to develop pathway and skills. A video was produced; a grant for coaches to work with Spinal Units to introduce TT was obtained; a Level 1 coaching course for BPTT performance players and sparring partners was organised. When Greg left TTE the project lead became Demi-Chante Reid. As Chairman of BPTT I continued to be one of 2 representatives along with Shaun Marples Programme Manager World Class Performance in meetings with TTE. Staff of TTE have now left and we recommend the partnership needs to be reestablished with Shaun Marples. Remembering the focus is on grass roots development of opportunities for people with disabilities not about elite performance. Meetings have also involved TTEvents Team looking at National Championships

We would recommend that the new Regional Managers of TTE should be addressing grassroots disability in their areas now as a development going forwards. We are concerned that this grassroots disability needs to be kept on the agenda, therefore, we recommend to National Council that our Select Committee still has a role to play and should continue.

Senior and then Junior: Grand Prix Events and the use of wheelchair friendly tables.

Attached for information is the BPTT -TTE Partnership Implementation Plan as background information. It also needs to be taken into account that BPTT is an organisation for Elite and Pathway Table Tennis players who have recognised Paralympic disability that can meet classification criteria, Whereas TTE would have a wider remit for disability

Due to change in availability this is the recommended Disability Select Committee going forward.to 2024,

Disability Select Committee 2023-24

Sue Hayes (Buckinghamshire)

James Kenny (South Yorkshire)

Harry Jutle (Herefordshire)

Shirley Pickering (Leicestershire)

Mike Smith

Ross Wilson World/Commonwealth Para Champion

Karen Tonge OBE (Chair of the Select Committee on Disabilities)